Rusty Eye on the soundtrack for Heavy Metal Magazine’s first Digital Comic “Gates”

Check out the trailer featuring Rusty Eye’s “Those Who Flee from The Sun”

Heavy Metal magazine is proud to announce the final artist line-up for its soundtrack to Gates, titled “Volume 1 – Ascension,” whose release date has been moved to August 9, 2011.

All net proceeds from the sale of the audio companion to the comic, will benefit the Ronnie James Dio “Stand Up And Shout Cancer Fund.” Ronnie James Dio appeared on the 1981 soundtrack for the Heavy Metal film while a member of Black Sabbath.
Hal Hefner, the creator of Heavy Metal Presents: Gates worked with artists LoveKrafty and Inside The Black to create all-new music to accompany the comic, and brought in other artists including Rusty Eye, Deltanaut, Hemoptysis and Black ‘N Blue to complete the comic’s music companion.
The complete soundtrack will be available August 9 for digital download on iTunes and AmazonMP3.


• Rusty Eye
• LoveKrafty
• Black ‘N Blue
• Inside The Black
• Deltanaut (featuring Nick Menza)
• The Odd Wedding
• CrimsonFaced
• Jordan Reyne
• Hemoptysis
• Friend Slash Lover
• Kevin Bryce
• Nineball
• Elysion
• HavocHate
• Elysion Fields
For further news and information, please visit

About Heavy Metal Magazine

Heavy Metal is a bi-monthly magazine that features art and comics, often focused on the science fiction and fantasy genres, known primarily for its blend of dark fantasy/science fiction and erotica. It was first published in 1977 and has since expanded into films, music soundtracks, video games and more. Artists featured in the magazine have included H.R. Giger, Moebius and Frank Miller, and writers such as William S. Burroughs.

About Gates

Gates is the first web comic published by Heavy Metal magazine. The comic launched January 1, 2011, and can currently be read online for free. Hal Hefner is the creator, writer and illustrator of the comic.